About Us

Canada Day Regatta

Taking place on the scenic Island Park and historic Allan A. Lamport regatta course, every July 1st, bringing excitement, outdoor fun and friends together for the past 130 years! This is a very special event that brings together rowing, canoe, kayak and dragon boat enthusiasts, both experienced and beginners, of various age and gender groups.

Allan A. Lamport Regatta Course

On October 13, 1994, Metropolitan Toronto named the regatta course on Long Pond the Allan A. Lamport Regatta Course. Mr. Lamport’s 35-year public service career included terms as Alderman and Mayor of the City of Toronto, Member of the Ontario Legislature, first Chairman of the Metropolitan Toronto Planning and Parks Committee and Chairman of the Toronto Transit Commission. In 1994, Mr. Lamport was awarded the Order of Canada.


Regattas and other boating events have long been part of the Toronto Island culture. The Dominion Day Regatta was held at the Hanlan’s Point Lagoon course from 1894 until about 1915 when it was moved to Long Pond. The Island Amateur Aquatic Association also hosted many social and competitive events on the islands.

DDRA Committee

“Guided by our Constitution and By-laws, the all-volunteer 2014 DDRA Committee is chaired by Judy Sutcliffe and includes members from participating clubs in the Toronto area representing Rowing, Canoeing/Kayaking and Dragon Boating. Member contact information will be added as members provide them.  We are especially looking for historical information on past committee members and presidents.

2015 Executive
President – Judy Sutcliffe – Judy.Sutcliffe@gmail.com
Vice President Canoeing – Charlie Stevens – cstevenshockey11@yahoo.ca
Vice President Rowing – Lynda Dundas – ljdundas@sympatico.ca
Treasurer – Gaynor Reader – gnreader@rogers.com
Secretary – Marisha Roman – marisha.roman@gmail.com
Past President – Judy Tutty – judy.tutty@sympatico.ca
Dragon Boat Coordinator – Tim MacFarlane – Tim@DDRA.ca
Volunteer Coordinator – Teresa Read – t_e_read@hotmail.com
Directors – Joe Lyttle, Ted Roworth, Frances Burchat, Mike Moir, David Moore, Ingrid Vaivads, Kim Stephens, Christine Seki
Past Presidents
1946-1956- Jack Guest
1954-1957 – Jack Watts
1958-1961 – E. Reilly
1962-1965 – Ken Lane
1966-1967 – Ray Knight
1968-1969 – Sandy McTavish
1970-1973 – Bart Hildebrand
1974-1975 – Donald May
1976-1977 – Bill Derrick
1978-1979 – Mario Lefebre
1980-1981 – Joe Frezell
1982-1983 – Ken Butler


1984-1985 – Sam Craig
1986-1987 – Roy Fraser
1988-1989 – Peter Copeland
1990-1991 – Frank McGregor
1992-1993 – Joe Lyttle
1994-1997 – Judy Tutty
1998-1999 – Carolyn Davis
2000-2001 – Barry Dudley
2001-2002 – Donald May
2002-2010 – Judy Tutty
2011- present- Judy Sutcliffe



Member Clubs

Contact Us

General: Judy Sutcliffe – Judy.Sutcliffe@gmail.com

Canoeing: – Charlie Stevens – cstevenshockey11@yahoo.ca

Dragon Boat: Tim MacFarlane – Tim@DDRA.ca

Website: info@ddra.ca